Members Login
Username 
 
Password 
    Remember Me  
Post Info TOPIC: Back to normal. From the latest MLB memo:


Hall of Famer

Status: Offline
Posts: 1547
Date:
Back to normal. From the latest MLB memo:


The MLB Rules Committee has determined that a legal catch has occurred pursuant to OBR 2.00 (Definition of Terms, Catch), or a valid force out or tag has occurred pursuant to OBR 2.00 (Definition of Terms, Tag), if the fielder had complete control over the ball in his glove, but drops the ball after intentionally opening his glove to make the transfer to his throwing hand. There is no requirement that the fielder successfully remove the ball from his glove in order for it be ruled a catch. If the fielder drops the ball while attempting to remove it to make a throw, the Umpires should rule that the ball had been caught, provided that the fielder had secured it in his glove before attempting the transfer. The Umpires will continue to use their judgment as to whether the fielder had complete control over the ball before the transfer.

This is the MLB rule which is what we play by except for the personalized rules CDMSBL has incorporated.
This has been a point of contention since the use of replay was expanded this year.



__________________
Page 1 of 1  sorted by
 
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.

Tweet this page Post to Digg Post to Del.icio.us


Create your own FREE Forum
Report Abuse
Powered by ActiveBoard